Skip to content »

Murder Among Friends

Phyllis Dorothy James White, known as P.D. James, Has Passed Away.

Picture of Author Phyllis Dorothy James

P.D. James, is best known for her main series featuring Adam Dalgliesh, a critically acclaimed poet and Scotland Yard commander, in London, England, but she also pioneered the modern female p.i. in her Cordelia Gray series, and wrote notable non-series and non-fiction as well.

Below are links to her website, our catalog holdings for her books, Stop You're Killing Me's  list of her books that includes her award nominations, and a very nice piece on her by NPR.  MAF members may recall that we read and discussed the first Cordelia Grey book, An Unsuitable Job for a Woman, written in 1972, at a time where society did not look kindly on female private detectives. James herself led an unusual career path that included becoming a magistrate, and a governor of the BBC. The film Children of Men is based on her book. James also made a number of trips to the U.S. including (at least) one local visit to Scotland Yard Mystery Bookstore that used to be in Wilmette. I was lucky to be one of the fans who met her, and she couldn't have been more gracious or charming with both staff and attendees. One way to celebrate her life and talent is readily available here -- and that's to read one of her books.


Here is the list of P.D. James titles owned by Lisle Library (includes other formats & TV series). Just click on the titles to go to our catalog and request them!

Lisle Library Logo

Inspector Adam Dalgliesh

1. Cover Her Face (1962)
2. A Mind to Murder (1963)
3. Unnatural Causes (1967)
4. Shroud for a Nightingale (1971)
5. The Black Tower (1975)
6. Death of an Expert Witness (1977)
7. A Taste for Death (1986)
8. Devices and Desires (1989)
9. Original Sin (1994)
10. A Certain Justice (1997)
11. Death in Holy Orders (2001)
12. The Murder Room (2003)
13. The Lighthouse (2005)
14. The Private Patient (2008)

Cordelia Gray

1. An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972)
2. The Skull Beneath the Skin (1982)



Innocent Blood (1980)
The Children of Men (1992)
Death Comes to Pemberley (2011)

Link to P. D. James' Website (Author's Site Link: Click on this logo!)

Stop You're Killing Me Logo (Author's Books w/Awards Link: Click on this logo!)

(Article Link: Click on this logo!)

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

777 Front Street Lisle, IL 60532 | Phone: 630-971-1675 | Fax: 630-971-1701 | Hours: M-F 9:30am-9:00pm, SAT 9:30am-5:00pm, SUN 1:00pm-5:00pm